Country Policy Working Groups

To make sure our policy work reaches all devolved nations and the Republic of Ireland, we have set up four Country Policy Working groups: England Policy Group, Wales Policy Group, Scotland Policy Group and Ireland Policy Group (including Republic of Ireland).

The purpose of the four country-specific working groups is to:

  • Provide strategic leadership on the development and delivery of our policy positions and activities in the relevant country.
  • Horizon-scan and monitor relevant policy issues to identify areas of policy that we could be proactive in.
  • Draft responses to country-specific policy issues, for example, through consultation and inquiry responses and developing position statements.
  • Organise and/or participate in relevant meetings and events.
  • Ensure that our views are represented to relevant stakeholders.
  • Provide strategic oversight for partnerships and liaise with appropriate bodies in the group’s country of operation.
  • Build relationships with relevant partners and policy and decision-makers.

The country policy working groups work in collaboration with the Strategic Policy Panel and Policy and Communications Manager and, where appropriate, with the relevant Geographic Section Committee(s) and Country Project Officers. Ideally, one member from each country policy working group will attend Strategic Policy Panel meetings.

Meetings of each group are held quarterly by teleconference, or as needed for specific activities. In exceptional circumstances a physical meeting may be organised. Groups agree the level of activity that they engage in between meetings.

Members of the England Policy Group

Graham Morgan – Chair

Peter Gilchrist

Cody Levine

John Box

Paul Clack

Nick Coppin

Victoria Fletcher

Tom Gray

Rob Harrison

Lisa Kerslake

Mark Lang

Niall Machin

Will Manley

Fiona Mathews

Felicite Dodd

Timothy Reed

Members of the Ireland Policy Group

Jenny Neff – Chair

Orla Maguire

Evelyn Moorkens

Katherine Kelleher

Will Woodrow

Deborah D’Arcy

Gavin Fennessy

Maeve Flynn

Jackie Hunt

Donncha Madden

Mary Tubridy

Nick Marchant

Anne Murray

George Smith

Members of the Scotland Policy Group

Kathy Dale – Chair

Thomas Mallows – Vice Chair

Greg Chamberlain

Roger Crofts

Stewart Angus

Julie Bhatti

Chris Cathrine

Andrew McBride

Desmond B Thompson

Members of the Wales Policy Group

Michael Willis

Penny Lewns

Harriet Webb

Mike Shewring

Matthew Harris

Claire Pooley

Neil Parker

Jerry Langford

Richard Crompton

Emily Williams


For further information please contact